Seasonal

Summer harvest

DSC03280

DSC03291

Red and blackcurrants from our garden.  Made them into a smoothie earlier with banana, red maca, ashwaganda, oat milk, maple syrup, and chia seeds!

DSC03275DSC03290DSC03284DSC03293

They are so easy to grow, apart from tying up any branches hanging too heavily, we just let them do their thing…

DSC03296

Strawberry and sage make great companions.  These little wild strawberries grow everywhere, and they taste just like the Strawberry Shortcake popsicles I had as a five year old!  Ah, nostalgia…

DSC03298

DSC03301

Raspberries appear on a daily basis, and I eat them as I walk through the garden – they don’t make it as far as the kitchen!  Thanks to the last two autumn prunings I gave them they’re doing really well, and seem to be growing numerous new canes which will fruit next year.  Once this year’s canes have finished fruiting I’ll thank them (I can’t help it!) as I cut them right down to the ground.

DSC03307

DSC03294

I’m gonna see how much I can eat in two days, and freeze the rest for winter…

DSC03295

Gigi wanted to help…

DSC03354

But after all that hard work, it was time for a cuddle…

DSC03340

Leave a Reply

